A Workshop on SOA & Web Services for ICT Solutions for Tax & Public Revenue - 19 February 2009 - Brussels, Belgium

Workshop Proceedings

*subject to change

Thursday, 19 February

08:30 Registration & refreshments
09:00 Welcome Speeches
  • Mr. Louis Collet, IT Director of the SPFF, Belgian Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Mr. Peter Brown, OASIS Board Director, and Managing Director of Pensive S.A.
Panel One: Advancing Open Standards in eGovernment using SOA & Web Services
Chair: Mr. John Borras, Chair, Pensive S.A.and former Director of Technology in the eGov Unit,
British Cabinet Office -

  • Mr. Reidar Nybo, Administrator, OECD Centre for Tax Policy and Administration, formerly Director of IT
    Operations in the Norwegian Revenue Service, Directorate of Taxes, Norway -
  • Mr. Xavier Fournier-Morel, Technical Director, SQLI Consulting, Lausanne, Case study of the Canton de Vaud Administration, Switzerland and Co-author of SOA-le Guide de l'Architecte IT - SLIDES
  • Mr. Frank Steimke, eGovernment Department, Finance Senate, Bremen, Germany - SLIDES
11:00 Coffee Break
Panel Two: Perspectives for Security and Identity in Public Services
Chair: Mr. Pim van der Eijk, Senior European Representative, OASIS

  • Mr. Frank Leyman, Manager, International Relations, EU STORK Project- SLIDES
  • Mr. Dirk Van Rooy, DG Information Society & Media, European Commission - SLIDES
  • Mr. Tony Rowley, IMS Strategy & Architecture Department, UK H.M. Revenue & Customs- SLIDES
13:00 Networking Lunch

Panel Three: International Cross-Border Use Cases Regarding SOA in Tax & Revenue
Chair: Dr. Yan Burtin, Senior Operations Officer, ICT Department, World Bank

  • Ms. Mariette Lokin, Coordinator & Senior Policy Advisor, Netherlands Ministry of Justice (Dutch XBL) - SLIDES
  • Mr. Satya Prasad Sahu, Technical Officer/Administrateur Tecnique, World Customs Organisation - SLIDES
  • Mr. Jan Augustijnen, eCustoms Consultant, IBM Belgium - SLIDES
15:45 Refreshments

Panel Four : Citizen-Centred Solutions for SOA & Web Services
Chair: Dr. Aniyan Varghese, Unit for ICT in Government & Public Services, DG Information Society, European Commission


  • Mr. Andreas Ebert, Regional Technology Advisor, Microsoft EMEA - SLIDES
  • Mr. Ronny Van de Maele, iDA MediaFoundry/Adobe- SLIDES
  • Mr. Pim van der Eijk, Senior European Representative, OASIS - SLIDES
Concluding Session
Chair: Dr. Carol Cosgrove-Sacks, Senior Advisor on International Standards Policy, OASIS - WORKSHOP SUMMARY
Concluding Remarks by Mr Mohammed Kammachi, President of the OASIS Group in SPFF, Belgian Federal Ministry of Finance.